Idea's space

This blog is dedicaded to share ideas about personal and professional development.

Idea’s space, one year now !

with 2 comments

Idea's space, one year now !

One year ago, I decided to launch a blog. By the time, I was moved by several motivations to face such challenge. I was already used to write articles for a newspaper for a small non-profit organization, and to ensure the edition of it. I was really glad to make such exercise I was not used to do. But the limited diffusion and the lack of feedback was a bit a break to my motivation.

In November 2007, I was starting my own activity as freelance consultant in the financial area. I was aware that I had to develop other skills and to work on specific aspects a freelance career implies. In the financial activities, we are not directly concerned by marketing aspects, but as you probably know, a freelancer has to think about….everything ! At that time, I was already member and user of social media like LinkedIn, and I noticed the increasing power of such tool, the importance to gain on visibility on the web.

I remember a meeting with a partner, talking about his future project about an expanding concept, the Personal Branding. This concept, born in the United States, is consisting to build our own image, based on our talents and skills and the services we can provide. Few weeks later, I found a book about the Personal Branding written by Olivier Zara, a French consultant and strategist. I will not explain and detail all the explained matters of the book, but I discovered that when I thought about my freelance career, I started a questioning process: what is my goal, what are my skills, what I like to do. In fact it was a bit a part of personal branding exercise.

In this book, Olivier Zara dedicate a chapter about social medias and the potential of such tools, as an opportunity to gain in visibility on the web. This concept is called your numerical identity. In this chapter, he explains how to increase your reputation, by sharing your professional experience, your ideas, your values, and the different tools to do it. One of these tools is a personal blog. Olivier Zara mentions that around 90% of the blogs on the web are ..inactive blogs, for the reason that to make a blog is an exercise implying regularity and discipline. The given advice is first to participate to forums, to other blogs and to interact on a regular basis. If you succeed to pursue this exercise during few months, you are probably able to make live a blog.

This was the beginning of the story. This is for me an exceptional experience. I am not the right person to judge about the quality of this blog. The two challenges when you are making a blog, is the regularity of postings, but also the quality level of the postings. By doing this on a regular basis, you are developing your creativity, improving your style, the inspiration is coming more easily by interacting on an ongoing way in forums and other blogs. This is also a way to move your reflection forward about the subjects you are inspired by. The feedback is also important in order to know where we are, to see the trend of the evolution of such exercise: comments, or increasing of visits every month, are motivation keys.

My goal is to pursue this exercise and to gain in visibility. There are two ways to pursue that goal: use the incredible potential of such tools, but the most important is to maintain and improve the quality of contents.

Thank you to all my readers.

Written by Eric Saint-Guillain

August 31, 2010 at 19:13

Posted in Human capital

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations and best of luck with your blog! Take a good care of your baby 😉

    Olivier Zara

    September 9, 2010 at 02:48

    • Thanks Olivier ! I would say you are a little bit the godfather of this blog. I will take care of the baby, he is growing a bit everyday !

      Eric Saint-Guillain

      September 9, 2010 at 07:29


Leave a Reply

